Katie y Walgreens

Over the past few days, I’ve been trying to get into the exhausting routine of taking care of a very cute and very sweet one year old, Julie. Her disposition makes this job fun and I love playing “peek-a-boo” with her blanket (the family calls it a bonito) or taking her on walks and learning the words soporte (stand) and arriba (up…which everyone remembers from cartoons of Speedy Gonzales) which are constantly being uttered by Saleed, the Peruvian woman who has been here for the last 6 months. Saleed leaves tomorrow and although she speaks very little English, just a few phrases here and there, and I know no Spanish yet, it’s been nice having someone over the age of….2….to spend the day with. I will miss her very much when she leaves at 5pm tomorrow. Even now, though, I find myself looking very much forward to 3:30pm when Diana gets home and I can say things in English once more…and have someone understand me.

The weather here is gorgeous and although I don’t spend that much time outdoors, I do go out in the afternoons for a while with Julie to swing or play in the pool (we haven’t gone swimming yet though) or look at the stray gatos that wander around the outside of the apartment sometimes. Aside from my face getting very red from the sun, I’ve taken some really cute pictures…but don’t have my camera cord. Unfortunately, the apartment is in the middle of Guaynabo, one of the cities in the Metropolitan area of San Juan. The main streets that run through the center of this town are a tad sketchy, so I can’t take Julie as far on our walks as I would like. We’re pretty much limited, for now, to the safety of the apartment complex.

It’s not too bad though. I’m in one of 4 Penthouse Apartments (19th floor) with 2 balconies, capable of making me very dizzy, 4 full sized baths, 4 bedrooms, an office, 2 living rooms, 2 dining rooms, etc. I’ve also eaten very well (and healthy!) since I’ve been here. Go me. 🙂

Well, I am heading off to bed. It has been a loooong day. I will shoot out my mailing address as soon as I get it, but for now, bed calls.

I realize now that I titled this entry so I could relate my trip to a local pharmacy. But I’ll cover the highlight of the trip in a footnote…

Ahora, buenas noches!

Spanish word of the day: globo (balloon…which Katie is crazy afraid Julie will pop)

Puerto Rico trivia: Here in Guaynabo, they lock up coffee. It’s crazy. Walgreens had IPod items sitting out for the taking. But the coffee (and we’re talking the crappy stuff sold all over the USA…)? Under lock and key.

One comment

  1. suzette · January 13, 2008

    Katie,I love your blog, and I am so excited for you! I hope all goes well for you, and I am sure that baby will be a super kid, because you are taking care of her.Take care and keep blogging!

Leave a Reply

