What happen to February and March?

Wow. I can’t believe it’s nearly April. It’s getting hot down here (mid-80s today) and I can only take Julie out for a little bit at a time. My old laptop broke down in early February (right before my camera cord arrived, go figure). It had served me well for about 6 years, so it was time for it to go. I just wish it could have waited until I had turned grad school essays. Due to my inability to plan ahead, I had to end up rewriting what I had done… I’m hoping when I get home, I can find someone who can figure out how to extract any information from my old hard drive. If you are in the know, please shoot me a message.

Otherwise, I finally got used to the routine of being here alone with Julie all day during the week and then–BAM!! Diana’s maturnity leave kicked in. She and her husband have decided to name their little girl Megan. Humourously–sorry, I spell like I’m British–Kate was the other name they were thinking of. Mom and Dad, you did well!

The highlight of February was driving to Fajardo with the Winers one weekend and going sailing with them and their friends. In early March, I rented a car for a weekend and drove through most of the western portion of the island. I stopped in Rincon to whale-watch, spent the night in a converted monastery-hotel in Mayagüez, saw the cliffs near the lighthouse down in Cabo Rojo and finished my weekend by touring the Castillo Serralles in Ponce before heading up through the mountains to San Juan. It was a glorious weekend, marked with great conversation and sleeping in until nearly 9am for the first time in months.

The last bit of news is…I’ve finally uploaded some pictures! They are available to view here: Puerto Rico in January!

That’s all I have for now! Happy late Easter, everyone!

Leave a Reply

