"A Kiss is Still a Kiss"

Last night, I watched AFI count down their top 10 lists in 10 various film categories. With the Oscars airing tomorrow night, I was inspired to go online and dig up AFI’s Top 100 lists. They made their first list in 1998 and revised it in 2007. Along with all my other resolutions this year, I’ve decided to try to watch all 100 movies on the 2007 list and the 23 movies that were on the 1998 list but removed by 2007. I started out this multi-year-long film-a-thon by watching Casablanca.

Although I know I saw the film when I was young, I enjoyed it a whole lot more this time around. For those who haven’t seen it, this film takes place in the free French territory of Casablanca during WWII. American Richard Blaine (Humphrey Bogart) runs a nightclub and bides his time trying to stay neutral while the French and Germans constantly butt heads. His efforts are halted when Victor Laszlo (Paul Henreid), the Czech underground leader, and his wife, Ilsa (Ingrid Bergman) show up in Casablanca looking for transport to America. Richard immediately recognizes Ilsa as the woman who broke his heart…but loves him still. It’s a heart-wrenching, compassionate, sweet movie that leaves me filled with understanding and agony. “Here’s looking at you, kid.”

(I do not attempt to claim this picture as my own. This belongs to Warner Bros.)

Aside from ranking in the top five on both of AFI’s lists, Casablanca also gives us some great quotes: “We’ll always have Paris.” and “…you’ll regret it; maybe not today, maybe not tomorrow, but soon and for the rest of your life.”
Leave a Reply

