Any Given Sunday

Today began like any other Sunday.  I squirmed out of bed long after the alarm had screeched at me.  I made it to church, still tired and sore, and afterwards, came back home to take a nap.

But today was no ordinary Sunday.  Today was the first official day of summer vacation.  The first day where I did not have to report to my classroom or spend hours writing lesson plans and grading papers.  Everything is done, finished, put away until autumn draws close and the days shorten once more.  But for now, it’s summer.  And the freedom tastes delicious.

This was only my second year teaching.  But last year, I spent most of the summer searching for an apartment and a roommate.  It’s nice to be settled this year, with no real plans to go anywhere.  So, instead, I made a list of this I hope to accomplish this summer:

1) Deep clean my bedroom.
2) Read a book a week.
3) Go on 3 awkward first dates
4) Work out every weekday.
5) Learn to cook 10 new dishes.
6) Read a Purpose Driven Life with Karen.
7) Make baby shower gifts for upcoming showers.
8) Get up before 7 every morning.
9) Keep up with foreign news.
10) Keep in touch with students who email me.

I’m spending part of this summer volunteering with inner-city families at a rural retreat in Connecticut.  So, I took a good look at my summer list.  Then I created another one of things I probably won’t completely accomplish this summer:

1) Deep clean my bedroom.
2) Read a book a week.
3) Go on 3 awkward first dates
4) Work out every weekday.
5) Learn to cook 10 new dishes.
6) Read a Purpose Driven Life with Karen.
7) Make baby shower gifts for upcoming showers.
8) Get up before 7 every morning.
9) Keep up with foreign news.
10) Keep in touch with students who email me.

All in all, it’s shaping up to be marvelous!

Leave a Reply

