Summer Log: Day 2

Two days into summer vacation and I couldn’t be more relaxed.  Oh, how I wish I was roaming the streets of some foreign country or setting out on a safari across the grasslands.  But, as much as I fight it, I’m a practical girl who likes traveling with company.  And noone these days seems to want to go anywhere that my wallet doesn’t rail against.  Jamie and I have tentative plans to go to Ireland next summer, but we had also talked about a Paris trip that never happened.  So I will continue hoarding away nickels and hoping.

That’s not to say that I haven’t been enjoying summer thus far.  It’s just been very, very relaxing.  Moreso than I usually like.  I’ve gone to classes at the gym both days and have a gym date set up for tomorrow too.  I watched The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and Chronicle.  I read the better half of The Lucky One.  I bought most of Jenn’s baby shower gift, spent time with my roommates, my mates from teaching last year, and good friends from this year.  I’ve cleaned the bathroom, straightened my room, and unpacked some of the stuff from my classroom that I brought home on Friday.  I’ve been busy.  Yet I still have time for naps.  I still have time to read blogs written by my friends who are getting married, having babies, moving halfway across the country, basically living a life entirely worth writing about.  As much as I like having downtime, I would really love something meaningful to do.  Maybe even a weekend getaway would do the trick?  For now, I’m just biding my time until my Connecticut Volunteer Adventure happens.

Leave a Reply

