School Log: Thursday, Week 4

Wake up. Dress. Eat. Work. Meetings. Gym. Dinner. Shower. Bed. Wake up. Dress. Eat. Work. Meetings. Gym. Dinner. Shower. Bed. Wake up. Dress. Eat. Work. Meetings. Gym. Shower. Bed. Lather, rinse, repeat.

I am now in my third year of teaching and trying, ever so hard, to keep this autumn from being as agonizingly boring as the last few autumns have been.  I love my job, but I’m trying to keep some perspective.  I am allowed to have a life outside of school.  Friends have helped me remember that.  Wednesday night is Ladies Night and we enjoy dinner and fine company…somewhere.  Weekends this month have been dominated by baby and bridal showers (and the occasional oh-i’m-so-old-ten-year-high-school-reunion).  And my friend Peter is constantly trying to get me to relax and watch whatever football game happens to catch his fancy.

Usually, between friends and work and the gym, I tumble through the door to my house around 9pm and only spend a few minutes talking to the roommates before heading bedwards.  This week, however, I’ve been sick.  And although my throat is aching and my head feels cotton-filled and light, I’ve enjoyed getting home by 7pm.  I haven’t done much these evenings, but it’s nice to just be home in daylight hours.

More to come later as I reflect on the weekend activities and my volunteer experience over the summer.

But for now…Grace and Peace,
Katie

Leave a Reply

