School Log: Wednesday, Week 14

Tomorrow is Thanksgiving!  Let’s finish this “Thankful” list!

November 12 – The Rest of the Week.  Mondays are not my things.  But they only come one day a week and then we adjust back to working…until…time for the weekend again!

November 13 – My Roommates.  Sometimes I feel like just being a bum at home, but then my roommate will convince me to grab sushi with her or go on a walk downtown.  It’s nice to share living quarters with someone who makes you move and keeps you company.

November 14 – Life.  Today, an awesome college friend gave birth to the cutest little boy I have ever seen.  I can’t wait to actually make my way south to see him in person.  Such a beautiful reminder of this holiday season’s gifts.  See how adorable this child is?

November 15 – My siblings.  Today is my sister’s 17th birthday.  On the 20th and 25th, two of my brothers will celebrate another year on earth.  We might not be as close as we were when we were younger, but I love my siblings.  They are intelligent, snarky, and humorous.

November 16 – My parents.  They annoy me and I annoy them.  Still we love each other very much.  We’ve lived down the hall from each other to over 1500 miles apart.  But I know they are always there for me when I need them.  And vice versa.

November 17 – My Co-workers.  Today I went to the mountains with a friend who happens to teach across the hall from me.  I love turning co-workers into out-of-work-friends.  But even those I haven’t, I still enjoy spending time with on a daily basis.  I work with such an amazing group of people!

November 18 – Change.  I love the times of change in the world: spring, autumn, sunrise, sunset.  In the adventure that is life, change keeps us from becoming complacent and boring.  Plus, change has the added benefit of allowing us to grow closer to others going through the same things as us.

November 19 – Compassion.  I have a child in my class who leaps up whenever I ask any other child to do a task.  “I’ll help!” he interjects.  Sometimes, he speaks at inopportune times, but usually, I’m just very glad that he is so caring, so eager to help.  Sometimes life is hard.  And it’s fantastic to see those small things that men and women go out of their way to do for others…just because they can.  If you want to be inspired by compassion, check out this video.

November 20 – Friends.  Once strangers, now people I care about deeply.  From South Korea to down the street, I adore these people.  They hear my thoughts, my dreams, my goals, and share theirs.  And having friends, literally, around the world, makes this immense planet seem just a little smaller.

November 21 – Love.  Need I say more?

…and for tomorrow….

November 22 – My God.  He’s an awesome god.  He reigns from Heaven above (with wisdom, power, and love).  Yes, my God is an awesome god.

Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

