Shamrockin’ It at the Shore

Virginia Beach

 

After a full week of teaching (no snow days?  unusual this winter), I could not ask for a more glorious, relaxing view to wake up to than this: a glassy, still ocean, a subtle breeze, and the early morning sun peaking through the clouds.  I’m reminded of an e.e. cummings poem about children with “m” names like maggie, milly, malificient, whatever….  I only really remember the end of this poem:  for whatever we lose (like a you or a me), it’s always ourselves we find in the sea.  And  it’s true.  Here, my soul is soothed and wounds healed.  Even as the day begins to awaken and I find myself amid CNN coverage of the missing Malaysian flight 370 and the 8k runners outside the hotel, my brain is busy processing and reflecting on various aspects of my life: family, friendship, disappointment, reconciliation, and, above all, hope.  And while I don’t know where I’ll end up or what my future holds, I feel confident that the choices I have made have set the course for a fantastic trajectory of my life.

From the Shamrockin’est Shore in the USA, enjoy your weekend!

Leave a Reply

