Love the Stars

Though my soul may set in darkness, it will rise in perfect light;
I have loved the stars too fondly to be fearful of the night.
-Sarah Williams

In the past few days,
I’ve been repeatedly told
I am brave.

And have been asked
time and again
whether I am nervous, scared.

I have been hugged so tightly
so many times
and can no longer count
the sweet I’ll miss you’s.

But I’m still just me,
a bumbling, awkward mess
of parts unfinished,
neither scared nor brave,
but excited,
tired,
and, above all, grateful.

I have never felt so loved in my life.

My collection of friends
shine
like precious gems
stored tight in bank vaults.
I might not have the chance
to visit or assemble them,
but I think of them often.
Even tucked away,
in a vault
or the other side of the world,
they add so much value to my existence.
I love knowing they are there.

Nothing I do–
nothing I have ever done–
would be possible
if not for the phenomenal you:
the friends and family who are
consistently
in my corner.

You are a shoulder to lean on,
an accessible ear,
an understanding heart,
my hope,
my conscience,
my lifeblood.

While I will miss you,
the world grows small.
And nothing seems so very frightening in life
when I know I have you
by my side
or around the world.

Faith-makes-all-things-possible-love-makes-all-things-easy-Dwight-L-Moody-quote

Leave a Reply

