Summer Time Sadness

I’m sorry it’s been so long since my last post!  I flew back to the states in June and spent a wonderful summer hanging out with friends and family.  I traveled between Virginia, Tennessee, and West Virginia and had a summer filled with backyard swimming, barbecuing, wine drinking, and shopping.  I saw a couple concerts, laid on a few beaches, and just soaked up that beautiful, blue sky as much as I could.  Some summer highlights?

Starting the summer off by seeing Idina Menzel in concert with my brother and sister.

Starting the summer off by seeing Idina Menzel in concert with my brother and sister.

Then Mom, Meghan, and I headed to Bristol.

Then Mom, Meghan, and I headed to Bristol.

We wandered State Street that is half in TN, half in VA.

We wandered State Street that is half in TN, half in VA.

In Knoxville, some of the family went ghost hunting.

In Knoxville, some of the family went ghost hunting.

And we just hung out and enjoyed each other's company.

And we just hung out and enjoyed each other’s company.

Back in VA, I went to the beach to meet up with college friends.

Back in VA, I went to the beach to meet up with college friends.

Amy and I spent one morning exploring a park.

Amy and I spent one morning exploring a park.

In Fredericksburg, I dropped by my old school to say hi.

In Fredericksburg, I dropped by my old school to say hi.

Then Meghan and I went to check out the Baltimore Aquarium.

Then Meghan and I went to check out the Baltimore Aquarium.

Summer was drawing to an end when my immediate family took a trip to the mountains in West Virginia.

Summer was drawing to an end when my immediate family took a trip to the mountains in West Virginia.

We climbed stairs to waterfalls,

We climbed stairs to waterfalls,

Enjoyed the blue, blue skies,

Enjoyed the blue, blue skies,

And saw a few nice sunsets.

And saw a few nice sunsets.

We explored caves

We explored caves

And mountains

And mountains

And wandered part of the American Discovery Trail.

And wandered part of the American Discovery Trail.

We even made s'mores over campfires.

We even made s’mores over campfires.

My last hoorah before packing was seeing The Piano Guys in concert.

My last hoorah before packing was seeing The Piano Guys in concert.

Then I flew back to Chengdu on a fairly empty flight.

Then I flew back to Chengdu on a fairly empty flight.

Of course, I can’t fit my entire summer on here.  I can only say I really wish I had a few more days with everyone.  Thanks, America!  You were great.

4 comments

  1. Aunt Marion · September 12, 2015

    So great to be included in the visitation loop. Love your pictures of West Virginia. Looking forward to your China up dates!

    • Katie · September 12, 2015

      I wish I had a pictures of the Hannifins to put up here! 🙂 I loved seeing you all!

  2. Linda Shiflett Fletcher · September 12, 2015

    I wish I could have visited for just an hour. I’d want to hear about your school and your tours. What a life!

    • Katie · September 12, 2015

      I’ll visit next summer, but in the meantime, if you’re ever in Asia… 😉

Leave a Reply

