Post Proposal Poem

IMG_0841

a rock
a drop
a hit
of knee

confession
love
an offer:
‘we?’

a ‘yes!’
‘of course!’
and ‘silly’
…tears

today-
the start
tomorrow-
the years

a hug
a hold
more tears
and sway

central park
and time
move on
we stay

*Because I know I’m going to have confused relatives asking me what this is about: No, I am not engaged.  But this couple is!  I don’t know their names nor their faces, but I watched their moment unfold in Central Park yesterday.  Congratulations, oh nameless ones!

3 comments

  1. Anne · July 21, 2016

    That is beautiful Katie! Isn’t New York fun? I love to visit that town. Should have given you Uncle Charles’s number. Luv you.

  2. Lucy Williams · July 21, 2016

    This is a great poem to accompany the photo of this happy couple! Too bad they don’t know they inspired you and your poetry! And yes, I was on of the confused that thought you got engaged!! You trickster!! Miss you!!

  3. Marion · July 22, 2016

    Beautiful!! I see publication in your future.

Leave a Reply

